Rich Roll Cookies

Hi there! If you came of age in the Eighties, like some of us did, you may have been familiar with the pretty blue binder of this Joy of Cooking book.

My mom had/has a similarly worn copy. I love these recipes, and someday, when I’m in Chicago, I will cook my way through the book. In the meantime, however, I simply can’t let these Rich Roll Cookies slip away.

Mine looked absolutely nothing like this. Mine looked a LOT more like a Pinterest fail picture, but, like I tell my son, I tried really hard. And I actually found this recipe for Royal Icing from the NYT to be so-so at best. It did harden up and make the cookies stackable, which was it’s main job, but I think I just prefer a good thick layer of buttercream on a sugar cookie, stacking be damned.

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Cream: 1 cup butter, 2/3 cup sugar
  • Beat in: 1 egg, 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Combine and add: 2 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt (less if you use salted butter)
  • Chill dough 3 to 4 hours before rolling
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes

Some recipes online call for 1/4 tsp baking powder; I will check with my mom and amend this post if necessary. Happy baking!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment