L’Epicerie & Druckin Lyle Lovett

OH OKAY. If you’re going to open an adorable French café and market, L’Epicerie,  50 yards away from my Culver City apartment, I guess I can take one for the team and give it a try. THE THINGS I DO FOR YOU PEOPLE.

My French prof's fave joke: An oeuf is an oeuf for breakfast. (Get it? Enough for breakfast?)

Awesome pal Kate ordered uh-MAZING eggs benedict, but instead of Canadian bacon (as in the above pilfered pic) hers came with rustic, homemade sausage. She loved it! And my mocha was delightful, with patterned foam pretty enough to use as wallpaper:

Leaf me alone with my mocha.

The owner, Thierry Perez, seems like an actual French. (Not like all the Mexican sushi chefs in LA. BLESS THEM. But they are about as Japanese as I am.) L’Epicerie (literally, the grocery store) is divided into a wine cave, a little store, and the dining area. All very pretty.

Slow service but trying very hard. Baby steps, right Kate?

I love the racks of Euro mags and I super-love the French candies by the register. The day we went, the views of the rainy sidewalks out the window (not to mention the hot fireman that stopped by!) made it all tres Parisian. We also had a front-row view of this guy, whom I happen to ADORE:

I would never love you and leave you, Lyle. Not like that flaky Julia Roberts!

Lyle Lovett was apparently starring in Much Ado About Nothing at the Kirk Douglas Theatre in Culver City with Helen Hunt, and I missed it; the run is over. (SAD.) But I got to see, feel and experience his utter Lyle-osity, his awesome hair, and the kind and gentle way he treated the L’Epicerie staff.

I remember when Bush beat Kerry in ’04, WXRT radio in Chicago played his song, “That’s Right, You’re Not From Texas” and it was one of the most apropos musical moments I’ve ever experienced. But that’s not the song that made me love him. It’s the song I heard Dag Juhlin cover beautifully one night at Schubas in Chicago:

Kiss my ass, I bought a boat, I’m going out to sea. Words to live by! Merry Christmas, y’all — Joyeux Noel and Feliz Navidad. I feel so lucky and blessed to have you with me.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “L’Epicerie & Druckin Lyle Lovett

  1. Tanya

    Is Lyle’s hair that bouffy in real life? Were the eggs benny divine? They look it.

    Happy New Year Lovely! Hope you had a wonderful time over the holidays and that 2011 is FANTASTIC!

    • debra

      i LOVE the word bouffy and i’m totally stealing it. 🙂 and i love YOU! thank you so much for reading. when are you coming to LA?!!! happy new year to you my love! hope to see you soon!

  2. Tanya

    I wish I were going today! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

