Brunch at Primitivo is A Druckin Secret

LA folks are used to waiting. For groceries. For In & Out Burgers. For See’s Candy. FOREVER. So when awesome Aunt Trish and I sauntered into Primitivo Wine Bistro in Venice on a sunny Sunday afternoon, I expected to fight my way to the hostess stand. After all, the place is BANANAS on weeknights/weekends:

Evenings are prime time at Primitivo. Lots of 2, 3, 5, 7 and 11.

But instead, the clouds parted. The angels sang. And we had the entire outdoor patio to ourselves, gazing out at a plant nursery filled with bright flowers and bubbling fountains. My first thought was — what’s wrong with this picture?

This is what it would have looked like if I took this picture!

Where IS everybody?! I knew lots of people were eating brunch at Joe’s and Gjelina, and who could blame them. But still. CONFUSED. Luckily, the brunch menu distracted me. So did this:

Is there a way to make sangria with Belvedere?

I was torn between the brioche French toast and a decadent cheese, bacon and avocado chicken sandwich on soft slabs of olive-oil infused focaccia. (It’s the breakfast vs. lunch dilemma. I’m sure you’re familiar.)

I rolled the dice on lunch, and was delighted with my selection. Trish tried their interpretation of paella, highly recommended by our friendly and super fab waitress, who happened to be from Wisconsin.

Paella with chicken, tiger shrimp, mussels and chorizo.

We LOVED it! (She gave me a bite. What? We’re family.) The chorizo really gives the creamy, saffron-scented rice a rich kick in the pantalones. Prices were very reasonable, especially considering each generous portion was enough for two lunches. When we asked our waitress why the place wasn’t packed, she explained that brunch is relatively new, and maybe people don’t know about it yet.

A peaceful, soul-satisfying retreat in the heart of bustling Venice Beach, close to the ocean but far from the madding crowd? Great food, no waiting? Well, thanks to me, the secret is OUT. (Mwahhahhaha.) Enjoy it while it lasts.

P.S. They take reservations. Operators are standing by. Call now!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Brunch at Primitivo is A Druckin Secret

  1. Tanya

    haha! I’m losing it. At first glance (before reading) that looked like wafers of dark choc topping the paella. I thought it strange & figured it was some fusion thing.

    What did you choose?

    • debra

      ha i know, right? worst pic ever. i need to step up my camera skills (how many times can i say that?!) i went with that yummy sandwich. focaccia bread is just an oily carb orgy — LOVE IT. next time tho — brioche french toast for sure!! 🙂

  2. Tanya

    I face that same challenge every time at brunch as well! 🙂

  3. Sister Shea

    MMMMmm….Pillsbury biscuit donuts. That’s what on the menu for your Wisit.

Leave a Reply

