Druck It to Me, Flag Cake

I’ve never been a fan of what I consider the Martha Stewart school of cooking, where appearance comes first and taste is secondary, at best. Personally, I think fondant is the work of the devil. Looks pretty, tastes like paste. So I had high hopes for Ina Garten’s flag cake, covered as it is with fresh fruit and cream cheese frosting. And as you can see, the results are fairly spectacular for a ho-made cake, if I do say so myself:

Thanks for the pic, Uncle P.O.C.!

Pretty as it is, I have to say I was underwhelmed with the cake’s texture. It just didn’t stand up to that insanely rich frosting, made with 1 lb. of butter, 1.5 lbs cream cheese, 1 lb. of powdered sugar and a defibrillator (optional).

My frosting had a greasy sheen reminiscent of beef tallow or bacon fat. It looked much prettier (and snowy white) before it came to room temperature, but you can’t let your freaky flag cake fly from inside your refrigerator, can you? Not after you spent an entire day making it. However, as my mom astutely pointed out, the slices themselves are very pretty:

Fellow food blogger, your slices are superior. As is your photography. But I bet I can drink more vodka.

In fairness, I did eat a little (tons) of frosting whilst making the cake, so maybe it’s not the frosting’s fault that I was over it before I even tried a piece. Have you tried an Ina recipe? If so, I’d love to hear about it.

And finally, apropos of nothing, a little dating advice that I must remind myself to follow: If his train can’t make one stop en route to bootytown, drop him like he’s hot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

