Druckin Luscious Lemon Bars

Lemon bars are, to me, the homecoming queen of baked goods. They are pretty without being plastic, have wholesome girl-next-door appeal, and though they may not have the wow-factor of a beauty pageant winner like lemon meringue pie, they are a HECK of a lot easier to pick up.

Sunshine on a plate.

Oh, SO PRETTY! Cupcakes and Cashmere beat me to the punch on this one, but I’ve been craving some lemon-bar love for weeks now and finally managed to get my citrus on last weekend. I thought about trying Ina Garten’s recipe:

But the ratio of custard to shortbuttery crust is off. Too gooey. This awesome recipe blogger kitchen-tested and came up with a more balanced version, you can find it here. (It’s the ‘thinner lemon layer’ version. And her advice to grease the pan — PRICELESS.)

My mom supplied our family favorite, Marge Peterson’s lemon bars. (Marge was our across-the-street neighbor in Richland and once tattled on me for flashing the neighbors from our front window, something I was doing deliberately to rile her up. Why I would want to ‘titillate’ a nice septuagenarian is beyond me — but Marge, for the lemon bars and for saving me from some deranged pervert, I humbly thank you.)

Hello, MARGE!

The Smitten Kitchen recipe was perfection but I want to share Marge’s recipe too, so here it is! Either way, the cheerful, congenial queen of the baked-goods parade is ready and waiting to grace your 4th of July picnic table with sweet/tart, lemony love.

Marge Peterson’s Lemon Bars

Crust:
2 c flour
1/2 c powdered sugar
1 c butter (my mom & I use salted butter)

Mix and press into a 9×13 Pyrex baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 min. Allow to cool to room temperature.

Filling:
4 eggs, slightly beaten
2 c sugar
6 tablespoons lemon juice
6 tablespoons flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

Mix well and pour over crust. Bake again for 25 minutes at 350 degrees. Dust with powdered sugar, cut while a little warm. Can be made ahead and will freeze. Use butter not margarine for best texture and flavor.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Druckin Luscious Lemon Bars

  1. I love the comparison to homecoming queen. When we were moving from our last city Rochester NY, our elderly neighbor gave us a plate of the the most delicious lemon bars, when I asked for the recipe she ran inside and literally ripped it out of her decades old Betty Crocker (I recognized the typeface). Their recommendation (which she followed), was to add coconut, which I highly recommend. Yum.

    • debra

      that does sound yum ms molly! how much coconut? to the crust or the custard or both? very tropical. thanks so much for reading!! happy almost 4th wknd! 🙂

Leave a Reply

