My Druckin Cookie Quest

Sorry I’ve been so slack. I am back and with renewed vigor. I even made cookies over the weekend. That is to say, I made cookie dough. I used these adorable Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chips:

Calling them chips doesn’t do them justice, because they are generous in both quality and size, and as we all know, these things matter. Foodies may mock my morsels, saying a real connoisseur would employ Valhrona or Callebaut. LA LA LA CAN’T HEAR YOU MINE ARE JUST AS GOOD AND I CAN GET THEM AT ALBERTSON’S. So there. Awesome pal Deb G. turned me on to this famous New York Times Cookie recipe a long time ago. You know, the one with the secret ingredient?

Hint: the secret ingredient is SEA SALT.

These big bikkies are kind of picky and labor intensive, requiring several fancy flours and extensive chill time. (Who wants to wait that long? In my experience, cookie baking is often an impulsive decision fueled by an immediate need.) So it took me a while to get around to making them, and I think they made their Druckin’ debut at a 2009 Oscar party. I’ll bet no one from the party remembers who won best picture that year. But everyone remembers THE COOKIES:

Pretty pic by Francesco Tonelli for the New York Times.

This recipe comes from Jacques Torres, the NYC chocolate demi-God. The first time I made them, I followed the recipe to the letter — fancy flours, 1.25 lbs of chips and all. This time, I just used plain all-purpose flour (thanks for the tip, Orangette!) and about 1 lb. of chocolate.  I actually like them BETTER with good ol’ AP flour. Must be the whiskey tango in me. The recipe makes 24 HUGE cookies (see my aforementioned comment on size) and you should only bake six at a time, so pour yourself a vodka tonic, pick up your US Weekly and flip on some Food Network or SportsCenter. You’re gonna be there awhile.

Now, if I were making these for awesome pal Chi whose violent love of bacon is equaled only by his violent nut allergy, I would do this:

Bacon chocolate chip cookies with maple cinnamon glaze. Oh yes he did.

Come to think of it, he does have a birthday coming up…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Druckin Cookie Quest

  1. Michele L

    Drucker, how is it possible that you can make my mouth water with such wonderfully yummy looking chocolate chip cookies one second and then completely gross me out the next? Bacon chocolate chip cookies? Yuck!

    • debra

      i know, i know — apologies to my veggie friends! they actually look… dare i even SAY… kind of delicious to me. i KNOW! i need to be checked into a cookie clinic. 🙂

  2. I think the bacon cookies look WONDERFUL! Debra, I miss your delish baked concoctions! I’ll never forget the yummy birthday cake you baked for me…

    • debra

      aw, sugar — come to LA for a visit and i’ll bake you another. (i am not above bribing people with baked goods…) 🙂

Leave a Reply

