Happy Birthday, Mother Drucker

Friday is my old-lady day and I’m not exactly delighted to be turning 63. But as my sister points out every year, having another birthday is certainly better than the alternative. (She also points out that I’m probably cold because I run around half-naked. Which is why I live in sunny SoCal.) I can’t find a birthday cake cocktail, so I need to invent one! Any suggestions? I’ve got the cutest glass:

Sweet, clever and cute. Like me!

And I know exactly what cake I want:

Definitely a candidate for thisiswhyyourefat.com.

That would be buttermilk chocolate cake, topped with vanilla mascarpone cheesecake, topped with red velvet cake, and enveloped in coconut-cream cheese frosting. And I know WHERE I’m going for my birthday weekend:

Oh when the saints...

So all I’m missing is the perfect birthday cocktail. I’m thinking Godiva White Chocolate Liqueur. Maybe a splash of Chambord, for the raspberry filling. A splash of soda would give it the creamy effervescence of an ice-cream soda. Served very cold, with a cloud of whipped cream and a generous mound of milk chocolate shavings all over the top. Candle. Fire. Done.

I’ll be at Jazz Fest ’til Monday, so laissez les bontemps roulez and have a great weekend, everyone!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Happy Birthday, Mother Drucker

  1. John P

    Ah, New Orleans. One of my favorite cities in the country. Have the most awesomest birthday ever.

    • debra

      how did i not know this about you?! we coulda been drinking sazeracs at the absinthe house and munching late-night beignets ages ago! well. never say never… šŸ™‚

  2. Most certainly, my friend. Super sweet, amazingly clever, and drop dead gorgeous! Have a divine birthday šŸ™‚ Much love, Chrissy

    • debra

      aw thanks sugar! it was a TRIP. if i have any brain cells left, i’ll blog about it. šŸ™‚ love you!!!

  3. I hope your Birthday was very very nice this time.

    • debra

      thanks SO MUCH for the birthday greetings! i think (i know) you are my very first overseas comment, and i looked at your site and want to say danke for your comment. i was in munich once years ago and the pretzels were DELICIOUS, the people, delightful. šŸ™‚ hope to hear from you again soon.

Leave a Reply

