Sweden Drucks at Making Movies

Last night, awesome pal Babar and I had a lovely drink at the Westside Tavern, followed by the worst movie ever, followed by a delicious Hickory Burger at the always amazing Apple Pan. (They are too old school to have a website, apparently, so the link is to their mouthwatering menu.)

Didn't see this on the menu. Wish I had!

I found the worst movie ever (The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo) on Rotten Tomatoes, which claims it has an 83% approval rating. But as we purchased our tickets, and I heard it was Swedish, with subtitles, 2 hours and 40 minutes long — I thought, uh oh. Babar will never let me pick the movie again. (RIGHTFULLY SO. Failure of epic proportion.)

The movie is described as a murder mystery/thriller/suspense. It’s more rapists/Nazis/boring. Which isn’t easy to do. Horrifying rape sequences punctuate hours of brooding, silence, and snow. (It is Sweden, after all.)

Plus, I’m just kind of OVER the Nazis, cinematically. (Though obviously, not all of us are.) I liked Inglourious Basterds, because it was kind of a new take on a tried and true topic. But this movie treated the discovery that the murderers had Nazi ties as a HUGE plot development, and I was like, really? It’s a shocking revelation that Nazis liked to kill people?

Apple Pan's Hickory Burger. Hope you're not wearing white.

Anyway. I may have to see Hot Tub Time Machine this weekend as a brain cleanser. Followed by another round of Apple Pan, of course. Happy weekend, y’all!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sweden Drucks at Making Movies

  1. Tanya

    The photo of the burger has me drooling over here…if I come visit, will I have to fast for months first? You know for all the eating we’re going to do?

    I’m sorry to hear the movie was a dud. I’m anxiously awaiting the release of the third book in the series. I couldn’t put the first one down, the second one was a cover to cover read on the flight back from Dublin. Bummer about the movie. 😦

    • debra

      hey chica!! yes please come visit!!! no fasting necessary. we’ll get plenty of exercise shopping, surfing (any interest?) and running around!

      i heard the books are great so it’s def a shame about the movie — but anytime i get to eat apple pan is a good time. πŸ™‚ come visit!!

Leave a Reply

