A Druckin Grape Day to be an American

Let’s get one thing straight: Bottle Rocket was a funny, quirky Wes Anderson movie starring Owen & Luke Wilson. (Quote, “Here are just a few of the key ingredients: dynamite, pole vaulting, laughing gas, choppers – can you see how incredible this is going to be?”)

BOTTLEROCK, however, is a nifty little wine bar in Culver City on Main Street (U.S.A.):

Wonder where these beauties fall on the stinky scale.

Went last night with awesome pal Arianna who writes a juicy yet authoritative wine blog, grapesmart.net. If you’re into that. I established long ago that when it comes to wine, I’m indifferent. I draw the line at the stuff in a box. But only just. (Oh, vodka. How I love thee.)

But the nice people at Bottlerock made a big FUSS over us which clearly means that Arianna is a SOMEBODY in the vino-culture and you should pay ATTENTION to the clever things she writes. SHOUTY. SORRY.

I had a nice Sauv Blanc from New Zealand, crisp and refreshing, and we also tried a Muscado (?) from NZ which tasted like a yummy piece of candy AND a hangover, respectively. (Oh, sugar. how I love thee.)

On a completely unrelated topic, I remember a LONG time ago (yep, I’m this old) when Arsenio Hall had a talk show. And really long fingers. (He probably still does. Have the fingers, I mean.) He was interviewing figure skater, cutie pie and medal winner Kristi Yamaguchi, and he said, “You make me proud.” That’s how I felt today when I saw this:

Women's downhill silver medalist Julia Mancuso, left, and gold medalist Lindsey Vonn celebrate on Wednesday at Whistler. (Wally Skalij / Los Angeles Times)

And coming from someone who could give a crap less about the Olympics in general, that’s saying something. YOU GO GIRLS!!! You make me proud. (Oh, girl power. How I love thee.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Druckin Grape Day to be an American

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, sugar. YAY, GIRL POWER – ALL AROUND! Women rock.

Leave a Reply

