Cheat Days Are For Druckin

Have I introduced you to my cheat day yet? It’s usually Sunday, and it’s the happiest day of the week. In fact, I composed a song about it (sung to the tune of Reading, Writing, Arithmetic):

Cheat day, cheat day, all-that-you-can-eat day,
Cupcakes and candies and pizza pies, no need to worry about my thighs,
You keep the feelings of guilt down low, oh my cheat day how I love you so!

When I lived in Ireland, cheat day was often sliced sausages on buttered white bread, or scones heaped with jam and cream. (Or both, who am I kidding.) In New Zealand, sweet potato (kumara) fries with sour cream and sweet chili sauce. In LA, this:

$10 for 6. Or, $60 for 36. Math is yum.

Now, I’ve been known to stop at SusieCakes. I’ve run a few red velvets up the flagpole at Bluebird Cafe. But variety is the spice of cheat day, so I rely on the Cupcake Babies at Vanilla Bake Shop in Santa Monica.

I’ve got it down to a science:Β  Snag a parking spot on Fifth in front of Whole Foods. Stick with delightfully familiar Mom’s Birthday Cake (vanilla with fudge frosting, oh yes), experiment with a flavor of the day. Or two. (Yesterday, Toasted Coconut.) Procure dinner so you can justify dessert:

Bears no relation to actual chicken, but I could eat a shoe if it was fried and dipped in honey mustard.

Eat healthily all week and repeat the following Sunday. What would/does your cheat day look like? Vegan cookies and tofu corn dogs? Steak, seafood, salad, Sizzler? Talk to me. There are no judges here.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Cheat Days Are For Druckin

  1. Nono

    This is quite similar to me except that I eat whatever I want all week then have a no-cheat day where I eat my fruit & vegetables.

    • debra

      ha!!! love it! πŸ™‚ mmmm now you’ve got me thinking — kiwi lemon tart, and choc bikkies, and that surprisingly delish pizza they make with corn on it…

  2. Hanski

    I want some of those cupcakes! Will you send some over for me???

  3. For me it would have to be mac’n’cheese. Or to be more specific, since I’m in Vegas right now, I’ll go with Mon Ami Gabi’s macaroni au gratin and a pitcher of Frangia.

    • debra

      ohhhhh you are right, the mac and cheese is such a great call, really any pasta, any cheese — i’m IN. sounds like you know how to rock vegas — what’s that link again? i need to blogroll it.

      and we need to splurge on decadent drinking when you get back to town! πŸ™‚

  4. Mr NZ

    I can vouch for your cheat days but never remember Kumara fries. Must have been a closet thing. All your blogs for months now and all NZ gets is the odd food reference. No wonder we deported you πŸ™‚

    • debra

      ha! deported, my arse. i had to leave because kiwi rugby just wasn’t as exciting as american football. πŸ˜‰

      • Anonymous

        Well the tax dept had different ideas! Yeah sure it’s more exciting and all… Especially with all that padding. Would hate for any of them to hurt themselves.

  5. JT

    C’mon Drucker if you’re going to cheat go all the way and indulge in Springfield’s own The Horseshoe!!! Start with two pieces of Texas Toast, put a burger patty on top of each one, cover it all with french fries and then the kicker…smother the whole thing with cheese sauce!! Since I’ve lived in Chicago so long it’s been hard to get one until now, go see my friends at Six Degree’s for the best (only) Horseshoe in the city, it’s a masterpiece!

    • debra

      what’s that springpatch hole-in-the-wall we went to for horseshoes? mary said, ‘oh don’t bring her THERE,’ as if we were going to get SHOT or, if we were lucky, just e coli. πŸ˜‰ ha!

      damn, i think half-a-dozen vose corn dogs might be the ultimate cheat food… oh no, see what you did?! now i’ll have to make a trip home for the state fair just so i can have them!

      • JT

        You’re thinking of Mr. Ted’s! And yes my sister was mortified, rightly so they bull-dozed the place a few years back. Paved paradise and put up a parking lot…for real yellow lines and everything. Damn shame.

Leave a Reply

