The Cactus Always Drucks Twice, and West 4th/Jane

Soft, pliable, cuddle-me cactus. Great gift idea!

Met up with pal Brooke last night for the Aquent holiday fete. Delicious Mexican food, lots of blow-up cacti (anatomically correct, of course!) chocolate cake, plenty of vino but NO DRUCKIN VODKA. I need to start carrying a flask.

For those of you unfamiliar with Aquent, they find work for creative talent like Brooke and me. And my gal there, the gorgeous and enviably put-together Olivia, told me that for writers, blogging is a MUST. So thanks everyone, again, for taking this journey with me!

Afterwards, we went back to the West side to meet awesome pal Kate and her boys at West 4th/Jane in Santa Monica:

West 4th/Jane. Direction number/Name.

Yawn. Wait, what were we talking about? Oh right. West 4th/Jane. It’s aiight, a little vanilla. Acceptable women’s loo. Crawfish boil on Wednesday nights which my girlfriends enjoyed. Owner Steve Lieberman is almost always around, which is nice.

Huge, colossal, border-line FAIL? No liquor license = no vodka = one unhappy Mother. They stock over 100 domestic and imported beers, if you’re into that. (But hey, you might be into blow-up cactii. I don’t know your life.) All ages, typically homogeneous SM crowd.

Since I was SOBER, I played a mean speed round of Connect Four, aka “Pretty sneaky, Sis!” with Kate’s pal Ahmet, then we popped in and out of Copa D’Oro and finally closed down Bar Chloe. My Thursday evening culminated in a 1 a.m. Del Taco Deluxe Taco Salad.

Ah, the glamorous life of a single girl in LA. Happy weekend, everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Cactus Always Drucks Twice, and West 4th/Jane

  1. Before you read the link below (to NY Times Online), which vodka do you think is the best? The link is to a story about a vodka tasting.

    http://tr.im/GF3x

    Rob

    • debra

      you will think me such a philistine but in all honesty — i always drink ‘well’ vodka b/c it never gives me hangovers and i’m POOR! thanks for the link tho, it was an education. 🙂

Leave a Reply

