Mother Drucker’s Best Apple Pie

A sweet way to get your apple-a-day.

A sweet way to get your apple-a-day.

I was going to write about coffee today (one of my major food groups) but after laboring over a hot pie all morning, I think I’ve earned some bragging rights.

Definitely NOT the smartest thing to bake a pie in a 400 degree oven on a hot, windless, Indian Summer day in LA. But the good news is, my 400 degree apartment now smells heavenly. Bad news is, I can’t say the same for myself.

This is my mother’s pie, and when she makes it, turns out perfect every time. I’m not always so lucky. I didn’t have milk, so I substituted half n half, something that may have thrown the fat to gluten ratio out of wack. (Thank you, Alton Brown.) I rolled it between two sheets of waxed paper just like she does, but it was really crumbly — I never know if that’s a good sign or not. Then I tried blind-baking it, after covering the bottom with cute red beans to weigh it down.

It sits on my stovetop now like a golden, crumbly trophy. It’s going to a dinner party tomorrow, so here’s hoping it tastes as good as it looks!

RECIPE
5-7 Granny Smith apples, cut into 8ths or smaller
9″ pie crust (recipe follows)
1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
Sprinkle apples with cinnamon and sugar; mix.

Crumb Topping
1/2 c. sugar
3/4 c. flour
1/3 c. butter (cut in)
I cut the butter in then use my hands to mix it til it looks like coarse crumbs.

Marilyn Goldstein’s Basic Oil Pie Crust (makes one 9″ crust; for double crust pies, double the recipe!)
1/3 c oil
1 c flour
3 tbsp milk
pinch salt and sugar
Mix and roll out between two sheets of waxed paper. Peel off one sheet, flip into pie plate, carefully peel off the other sheet. Works like a charm! Unless you’re like me, in which case you might need to be extra patient with the peeling so you don’t rip the crust. Bake in a preheated 400° oven for about 40 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

